Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
St. Louis
Blues
52-23-7
Nashville
Predators
38-32-12

26 SOG
31 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
STL
NSH
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (24)
game preview

Predators host Blues, seek fourth win in a row

Saturday, 03.15.2014 / 12:42 AM
Share with your Friends


Predators host Blues, seek fourth win in a row
St. Louis Blues vs. Nashville Predators

BLUES (45-14-7) at PREDATORS (29-28-10)

TV: FS-MW, FS-TN

Last 10: St. Louis 7-2-1; Nashville 4-5-1

Blue Notes: The Blues have points in 20 consecutive division games (18-0-2), which is a new franchise record. Vladimir Tarasenko is on a career-high four-game assist streak (one goal, four assists). The Blues are 4-0-0 against Nashville this season and can sweep the season series with a win. Ryan Miller will start in goal and is 3-0-1 with a 1.75 goals-against average, a .934 save-percentage and one shutout in his last four starts against Nashville. The Blues are 9-1-0 in their last 10 against Nashville. With a win, Ken Hitchcock would tie Andy Murray for third on the Blues' all-time wins list (118).

Season series: The St. Louis Blues have won the previous four games against the Nashville Predators. After losing the first two, outscored 10-3, the Predators have lost 4-3 in a shootout and 2-1.

Big story: One night after defeating the third-place team in the Central Division, the Chicago Blackhawks, to end a perfect three-game road trip, Nashville comes home to play the dominant first-place club.

"We had a tough home stretch there for a while. We were playing really well; we just weren't getting goals," Predators defenseman Ryan Ellis said after the 3-2 win. "I think going on the road was good for our team, for the chemistry, and just for the bonding experience. And we've rattled off three wins here and we're getting back in the race."

St. Louis leads the Presidents' Trophy standings in large part due to its 18-0-2 record against its division that includes that 4-0-0 mark against Nashville. The Blues have nine divisional games remaining after this one, including five of the last six.

Team Scope:

Blues: Two young wings, Jaden Schwartz and Vladimir Tarasenko, each reached their first 20-goal season Thursday in a 6-2 win against the Edmonton Oilers.

Schwartz, who turns 22 in June, scored twice to get to 21 goals, and Tarasenko, who turned 22 in December, scored his 20th. They fill bigger roles in their second full season after the Blues traded David Perron to the Oilers this summer.

"I think we expected this to happen," Blues coach Ken Hitchcock said. "... The risk we took was that the two kids could take David's minutes, and they've been able to do that."

Schwartz was not as sure.

"I didn't really expect it coming into this season," he said. "But I wanted to chip in and do my part, and [I'd like] to keep going."

Forward Vladimir Sobotka returned after missing 12 games because of a knee injury and had a goal and two assists, including one on Tarasenko's goal.

Hitchcock told the St. Louis Post-Dispatch on Friday that the line of Sobotka, Tarasenko and T.J. Oshie, which combined for three goals and eight points, would stay together. Forward Brenden Morrow was a healthy scratch but will be back in the lineup after Magnus Paajarvi sustained an upper-body injury.

"I think we're going to invest in a few more changes, though, in the next 48 hours, to be honest with you," Hitchcock told the newspaper. "There are some things we want to look at here in the next few games. We want to make some changes, and a couple of them might be pretty interesting."

Predators: Nashville got six points from defensemen against Chicago. Shea Weber (two assists) had his 12th multipoint game of the season (second in a row), Ellis' breakaway was his fourth goal to tie his career-high, and Roman Josi had three assists.

Excluding 28-year-old Weber, none of the other five defensemen who skated Friday is older than 23.

"That's the strength of really our group, is our D-men," coach Barry Trotz said. "They're all young and talented. We're the youngest team in the League by three years, on the blue line, with our seven guys. The future's really bright for us there."

Trotz said it was "too early to tell" if goalie Pekka Rinne would start back-to-back games. He's won two in a row after losing his first three after returning from a hip infection.

Who's hot: Blues goalie Ryan Miller is 5-0-1 since arriving via trade from the Buffalo Sabres and has allowed more than two goals once. Forward Alexander Steen had two assists Thursday to reach a career-high 52 points. Oshie had three points and at 53 is one short of his career-high. Defenseman Alex Pietrangelo has a goal in two straight games after going 20 without one. Tarasenko has five points in a four-game streak. … Josi has 15 points in his past 19 games.

Injury report: Blues forward Patrik Berglund (leg) left the game Thursday midway through the third period and is questionable for Saturday. Magnus Paajarvi has an upper-body injury and won't play against Nashville. … The Predators report no injuries.

2013-2014 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 15 '14STL 4 at NSH 1P. Berglund
Mar 06 '14STL 2 at NSH 1M. Paajarvi
Feb 01 '14NSH 3 at STL 4 - SOV. Tarasenko
Oct 26 '13STL 6 at NSH 1T. Oshie
Oct 03 '13NSH 2 at STL 4T. Oshie
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
T. Oshie67173754+203454
A. Steen56302353+144058
J. Schwartz65213051+282131
D. Backes62212647+118783
A. Pietrangelo6783846+221821
V. Tarasenko64212243+201653
K. Shattenkirk6693140+102865
D. Roy6492736+22442
J. Bouwmeester6742832+261610
P. Berglund64141731+133822
V. Sobotka4882028+206011
C. Stewart58151126+211233
S. Ott6791322-276261
B. Morrow60101121+34832
B. Jackman6631114+166001
M. Lapierre577613+14401
M. Paajarvi446612-2401
R. Polak574711+103900
I. Cole423710+162500
R. Reaves48246+110500
J. Leopold24156+2400
C. Colaiacovo14123-11000
D. Jaskin9112+0400
A. Cracknell17022+2000
C. Porter12011+2000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Halak4024-9-48310022.23.917
R. Miller4721-22-412015872.57.924
B. Elliott2616-5-2495842.07.916
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
S. Weber65162743-134494
C. Smith65202040+81853
D. Legwand62103040-83042
M. Fisher61171936-115842
P. Hornqvist63132134-112474
R. Josi5892130-121431
N. Spaling59131427+41031
C. Wilson6772027+11722
M. Cullen6361824-52811
S. Jones6861723-222222
R. Ellis6641519+71802
E. Nystrom6513518-225401
G. Bourque6051318-9801
P. Gaustad689716-86100
V. Stalberg577916-153201
M. Del Zotto5921214-71410
M. Ekholm48156-13600
P. Eaves28235-5210
F. Forsberg12145-8210
V. Bartley38055-21400
M. Hendricks44224-55400
R. Clune45213-813801
K. Klein47123-112100
S. Moser6112+0200
C. Sissons8022+0200
T. Beck7000-2600
J. Piskula2000+1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
C. Hutton3315-10-4818462.79.904
D. Dubnyk3411-18-31039453.43.891
M. Mazanec258-10-4646502.80.902
P. Rinne156-8-1344022.39.915
M. Hellberg10-0-0145.00.750

 
TICKETS
Single Game Tickets
Season Tickets
Half Season Plans
12-Game Plans
6-Game Plans
Group Tickets
Luxury Suites
My Account
NHL Ticket Exchange

TEAM
Team Roster
Prospects
Coaches
Front Office
Blues History
All-Time Player Roster
Chicago Wolves
Radio Network

SCHEDULE
2013-14 Regular Season
Schedule Downloads
Promotions/Giveaways

STATS
Player Stats
League Standings

NEWS
News
Features
Blue Note Insider Blog

MULTIMEDIA
Blues Mobile
Blues VideoCenter
Photo Galleries

FANZONE
Social Networks
E-mail Subscriptions
Bud Light Zone
Hot Deals for Cool Fans
Jr. BlueNote Kids Club
License Plates
STL Sports Hall of Fame
Youth Hockey All-Stars

COMMUNITY
Blues in the Community
Blues 14 Fund
50/50 Raffle Numbers

SHOP
Online Store
Blues Auctions
True Blues Authentics

stlouisblues.com is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, stlouisblues.com and stlblues.com are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

PRIVACY POLICY | ADCHOICES | TERMS OF USE | EMPLOYMENT & INTERNSHIPS | GUEST EXPERIENCE SURVEY | CONTACT US