Dallas
Stars
42-29-11
St. Louis
Blues
38-33-11

27 SOG
30 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
DAL
STL
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (52)
game preview

Blues aim for sixth straight win against Stars

Saturday, 01.01.2011 / 8:23 PM

Brian Compton - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

Share with your Friends


Blues aim for sixth straight win against Stars
Dallas Stars vs. St. Louis Blues
STARS (22-13-4) at BLUES (20-12-5)

TV: Fox Sports-Southwest, Fox Sports-Midwest.

Last 10: Dallas 5-3-2; St. Louis 6-3-1.

Season Series: This is the fourth and final meeting between the teams. Dallas will be going for a sweep on Sunday after winning three straight one-goal games against the Blues.

Big Story: St. Louis hit a bit of a bump in the road, but enters this one riding a five-game winning streak. The Blues extended the streak on Friday night with a 4-3 victory against the Phoenix Coyotes at the Scottrade Center.

"We wanted to finish the year on a winning note," Blues goalie Jaroslav Halak said. "Fortunately for us, we got a 4-0 lead. We got a little comfortable in there, giving them opportunities to score goals, but they all count. We got the two points and that's all that matters right now."

Team Scope:

Stars: Dallas enters Sunday's action trying to avoid a three-game losing streak. The Stars ended 2010 in disappointing fashion Friday night when they suffered 4-1 loss to the Vancouver Canucks at the American Airlines Center. Cory Schneider made 44 saves for Vancouver.

"I think tonight we played a pretty strong game, but we had some adversity and tonight it came in the form of penalties that were self-inflicted for the most part and we didn't have any confidence in our penalty kill,” Stars coach Marc Crawford said. "I thought that maybe we were reading their press clippings about how good their power play is, and it seemed to me, we were back on our heels, and when we got aggressive on the penalty kill, I thought we killed much better."

Blues: It seemed as if St. Louis would cruise to its fifth-straight win after it built a 4-0 lead against the Coyotes, but the latter responded with three unanswered goals in the third period. Shane Doan scored twice for Phoenix and tallied his 700th NHL point, but the Blues were able to hang on and escape with the two points.

"They didn't go away," forward Alex Steen said. "They battled back, worked hard, but we got the 'W."'

Who's Hot: Stars center Brad Richards has points in two of his last three games. He leads Dallas with 42 points (17 goals, 25 assists). … Steen scored his team-leading 12th goal of the season on Friday night.

Injury Report: Dallas is boasting a healthy lineup. … St. Louis will be without David Perron (post-concussion syndrome), T.J. Oshie (ankle), Andy McDonald (concussion) and Dave Scatchard (knee).

Stat Pack: Dallas is 0-3-1 in its last four at home, but is still 10-3-3 overall at American Airlines Center. … Halak had gone 123 minutes, 9 seconds without allowing a goal before Doan scored the first of his two goals on Friday.

Puck Drop: "I'm not trying to think about streaks, or anything like that. I'm just trying to get the wins obviously. It would be nice to get a win 4-0, but a win is a win … we get two points and it's huge for us." -- Blues goalie Jaroslav Halak after Friday's 4-3 win against Phoenix

2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Jan 02 '11DAL 4 at STL 2B. Richards
Nov 27 '10DAL 2 at STL 1L. Eriksson
Nov 26 '10STL 2 at DAL 3M. Ribeiro
Oct 16 '10STL 2 at DAL 3 - SOL. Eriksson
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
B. Richards40182745+72053
L. Eriksson40162642+14464
M. Ribeiro4062632+11232
J. Neal40141630+123531
B. Morrow4016925+13351
J. Benn3791524-43021
S. Robidas3931619+84911
S. Ott408917-89922
T. Daley4021113+91600
B. Segal34448-13201
A. Burish40415-15200
K. Skrastins39235+22601
M. Niskanen35055+12300
T. Wandell37314-2601
N. Grossmann38044-22900
J. Woywitka24044+61400
M. Fistric24213-32201
T. Petersen34123-7600
B. Sutherby29123-44200
A. Gagnon7022+2000
K. Barch20101-54400
P. Larsen3011-3000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
K. Lehtonen3016-10-4799022.66.912
A. Raycroft127-3-0243392.24.929
R. Bachman10-0-0040.001.000
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
D. Backes38102030+115421
A. Steen38131427+31415
P. Berglund3881321+01430
B. Boyes3891019+52231
A. Pietrangelo3551318+41331
M. D'Agostini388917+42222
A. McDonald258917+31211
V. Sobotka3451116+13310
C. Colaiacovo3141216-91101
E. Johnson3731013-32311
T. Oshie131910+3610
E. Brewer38549+94201
J. McClement38538-131011
B. Crombeen38358-137100
B. Jackman29088+91800
B. Winchester33527-105831
D. Perron10527+71200
R. Polak14112+3801
N. Oystrick7022+2900
C. Porter19011+01400
T. Strachan19011-72400
D. Scatchard8011+1600
A. Cracknell8011+1200
T. Hensick3011-2200
C. Janssen22000-45600
N. Nikitin13000-7400
I. Cole10000-21200
S. Della Rovere5000+0900
N. Drazenovic3000-3000
R. Reaves2000+01700
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Halak3015-11-4728332.42.914
T. Conklin95-2-1262363.02.890

 
TICKETS
Single Game Tickets
Season Tickets
Half Season Plans
12-Game Plans
6-Game Plans
Group Tickets
Luxury Suites
My Account
NHL Ticket Exchange

TEAM
Team Roster
Prospects
Coaches
Front Office
Blues History
All-Time Player Roster
Chicago Wolves
Radio Network

SCHEDULE
2013-14 Regular Season
Schedule Downloads
Promotions/Giveaways

STATS
Player Stats
League Standings

NEWS
News
Features
Blue Note Insider Blog

MULTIMEDIA
Blues Mobile
Blues VideoCenter
Photo Galleries

FANZONE
Social Networks
E-mail Subscriptions
Bud Light Zone
Hot Deals for Cool Fans
Jr. BlueNote Kids Club
License Plates
STL Sports Hall of Fame
Youth Hockey All-Stars

COMMUNITY
Blues in the Community
Blues 14 Fund
50/50 Raffle Numbers

SHOP
Online Store
Blues Auctions
True Blues Authentics

stlouisblues.com is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, stlouisblues.com and stlblues.com are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

PRIVACY POLICY | ADCHOICES | TERMS OF USE | EMPLOYMENT & INTERNSHIPS | GUEST EXPERIENCE SURVEY | CONTACT US