Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
St. Louis
Blues
38-33-11
Atlanta
Thrashers
34-36-12

  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (19)
game preview

First-place Thrashers set to host Blues

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 3:48 AM

Brian Compton - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

Share with your Friends


First-place Thrashers set to host Blues
St. Louis Blues vs. Atlanta Thrashers
BLUES (15-12-5) at THRASHERS (19-11-5)

Last 10: St. Louis 3-5-2; Atlanta 6-2-2.

Season Series: This is the second and final meeting between the teams. St. Louis earned a 4-3 shootout victory against Atlanta on Oct. 30 at the Scottrade Center. Blues forward Jay McClement notched his first career hat trick in the victory.

Big Story: Ladies and gentlemen, your first-place Atlanta Thrashers. That's right -- with Monday's 6-3 win at Toronto, the Thrashers moved past Washington and Tampa Bay and now sit atop the Southeast Division. Atlanta has earned points in 14 of its last 16 games.

"Our feeling in the dressing room is that everyone's involved in the offense," Thrashers coach Craig Ramsay said. "Everybody has to be involved in the offense. We don't designate a scorer, we don't designate checkers. We expect everybody to participate, and that's what we're getting."

Team Scope:

Blues: The woes continued for St. Louis on Monday night as it lost for the fourth time in five games with a 3-1 defeat to the Vancouver Canucks at the Scottrade Center. The Blues mustered only 16 shots on goal, while Jaroslav Halak made 26 saves in the loss.

The Blues are in the middle of a 15-game stretch, with 12 of those contests at home.

"There wasn't a lot of space or opportunity to be had out there," coach Davis Payne said of Monday's loss. "You had to fight for everything you got. We beat people with real smart, predictable plays on our own part. That's something we're going to have to address and make sure it shows up in Atlanta."

Thrashers: Tobias Enstrom had a big game against the Leafs, as he tallied two goals and two assists, while Freddy Modin added two goals against his former team. Anthony Stewart and Andrew Ladd also scored.

"Everyone has confidence in each other," defenseman Dustin Byfuglien said. "The 'D' core's been great. The more you play, the more comfortable you are and the more confidence you have in everybody."

Who's Hot: Byfuglien had two more assists Monday night and leads all NHL defensemen with 35 points this season.

Injury Report: The Blues will be without David Perron (concussion), Andy McDonald (concussion) and T.J. Oshie (ankle).

Stat Pack: Blues winger B.J. Crombeen appeared in his 200th NHL game on Monday night, while teammate Alex Steen notched his third goal in two games against the Canucks this season.

Puck Drop: "If I see a chance to jump up I can go and not worry about sticking to a plan. I'm always going to have someone backing me up. They all know I've played forward and they all know I'm not afraid to jump up and go in front of the net on a rush." -- Thrashers defenseman Dustin Byfuglien
2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Dec 21 '10 STL 4 at ATL 2 A. Pietrangelo
Oct 30 '10 ATL 3 at STL 4 - SO T. Oshie
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
D. Backes3371724+65420
A. Steen33111122+31414
P. Berglund3361218+11430
A. McDonald258917+31211
A. Pietrangelo3041317+21321
B. Boyes337916+02230
C. Colaiacovo2641014-81101
M. D'Agostini337613+02021
V. Sobotka294913-13110
E. Johnson321910-32101
T. Oshie131910+3610
E. Brewer33527+94001
J. McClement33527-13811
D. Perron10527+71200
B. Crombeen33347-96600
B. Winchester28426-105631
B. Jackman24055+31800
R. Polak9112+2601
N. Oystrick7022+2900
T. Strachan19011-72400
C. Porter14011+01200
D. Scatchard8011+1600
A. Cracknell3011+1000
T. Hensick3011-2200
C. Janssen17000-44200
N. Nikitin13000-7400
I. Cole10000-21200
S. Della Rovere5000+0900
N. Drazenovic3000-3000
R. Reaves2000+01700
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Halak2612-10-4627032.40.912
T. Conklin84-2-1252103.28.881
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
D. Byfuglien36122436+103945
A. Ladd36121931+21041
T. Enstrom3652328+71630
A. Stewart36101323+41442
E. Kane34111122+03721
R. Peverley3681422-32741
B. Little3010818+12811
N. Antropov3571118-72040
N. Bergfors2771118+1221
A. Burmistrov365813+12302
J. Oduya3621113-51000
C. Thorburn365712+73110
J. Slater315510+41501
F. Modin21628-6200
B. Eager30358+66101
E. Boulton30437+81901
R. Hainsey36156+7800
Z. Bogosian30235-62101
B. Sopel35145+111000
T. Stapleton7000+0000
F. Meyer6000-3400
N. Dawes6000-6000
N. Welch2000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
O. Pavelec2312-6-3396841.82.943
C. Mason167-6-2535123.69.896
P. Mannino10-0-01161.58.938

 
TICKETS
Single Game Tickets
Full Season Tickets
Half Season Plans
12-Game Plans
6-Game Packs
Group Tickets
Luxury Suites
My Account
NHL Ticket Exchange

TEAM
Roster
In the System
Coaches
Front Office
Blues History
All-Time Player Roster
Chicago Wolves
Alaska Aces

SCHEDULE
Preseason
Regular Season
Promotions Schedule
Schedule Downloads

STATS
Player Stats
League Standings

NEWS
News
Features
Blues Overtime Blog

VIDEO
Game Highlights
GameDay
News & Interviews
All-Access
NHL Network

SOCIAL
Find a Player
Facebook
Twitter
Mobile App
E-mail Subscriptions

FANS
Hot Deals for Cool Fans
Photo Galleries
License Plates

COMMUNITY
Blues in the Community
Blues 14 Fund
50/50 Raffle Numbers

SHOP
Online Store
Blues Auctions
True Blues Authentics

stlouisblues.com is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, stlouisblues.com and stlblues.com are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2014 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

PRIVACY POLICY | ADCHOICES | TERMS OF USE | EMPLOYMENT & INTERNSHIPS | GUEST EXPERIENCE SURVEY | CONTACT US