Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
St. Louis
Blues
40-32-10
Montréal
Canadiens
39-33-10

  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (29)
game preview

Habs aim to avoid third-straight loss against Blues

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 3:48 AM

Brian Compton - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

Share with your Friends


Habs aim to avoid third-straight loss against Blues
St. Louis Blues vs. Montréal Canadiens
BLUES (21-20-7) at CANADIENS (23-23-4)

Last 10: St. Louis 4-4-2; Montreal 4-5-1.

Season series -- This is the lone meeting between the teams. They last met on Nov. 16, 2008, when Alex Kovalev beat Manny Legace in the shootout to lift the Canadiens to a 3-2 victory at the Scottrade Center.

Big story -- St. Louis is getting accustomed to new coach Davis Payne, as it recently had a season-high, four-game winning streak. Payne replaced Andy Murray behind the bench on Jan. 2.

Team Scope:

Blues -- Payne's team saw its win streak come to an end on Monday night, when it started a three-game road trip with a 4-2 loss at Columbus. Paul Kariya scored 1:11 into the game, but Raffi Torres scored twice before the first period concluded and the Blues never really recovered.

"I didn't think we had much jump tonight," Payne said. "Even when we called upon it, it didn't seem like we were able to get our gears shifted for the third period. For whatever reason, Columbus did a great job with any forecheck that we were able to establish. We had very little net traffic and very few secondary possessions. We have to regroup tomorrow."

Canadiens -- Montreal enters Wednesday's action hoping to avoid a three-game losing streak. After jumping out to a 2-0 lead on Sunday, the Habs allowed six unanswered goals en route to a 6-2 loss against the New York Rangers at Madison Square Garden.

For the Canadiens, it was their eighth setback in their last nine games against teams that are currently in the top eight in the Eastern Conference.
 
"I guess the stats don't lie as far as that goes," forward Mike Cammalleri said. "I thought we came with emotion and work ethic, but I think that we could've channeled it better. I think we could've played a more effective, efficient road game, but we were unable to do that."

Who's hot -- The line of Benoit Pouliot, Scott Gomez and Brian Gionta has tallied 12 goals and 14 assists in the last nine games for the Canadiens. Pouliot has four goals in his last four contests.

Injury report -- Blues forward D.J. King (hand) is in the midst of a two-week conditioning stint in the American Hockey League. … Montreal forward Andrei Kostitsyn (lower body) is out indefinitely, while his brother, Sergei Kostitsyn (lower body), is day-to-day.

Stat pack -- St. Louis is again suffering from a lack of scoring. If no player tallies 30 goals this season, it would mark the third time in the last five seasons the Blues would fail to have a 30-goal scorer. Andy McDonald leads the team with 14.

Puck drop -- "We had turnovers and a lot of bad play selection. I think it's a matter of us playing the type of hockey we are capable of. If we play like we did in the first period for all three periods, we'd be alright." -- Montreal coach Jacques Martin after Sunday's loss to the Rangers
2009-2010 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Jan 20 '10 STL 4 at MTL 3 - OT A. McDonald
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
B. Boyes4992332-51222
A. McDonald46151429-101241
K. Tkachuk44111627-23440
D. Backes49101727-17512
D. Perron49141226-103442
T. Oshie4591726-42412
E. Johnson4841923+05321
P. Kariya43101222-31831
A. Steen35111021-31641
J. McClement4971219-4801
C. Colaiacovo4041115-24310
P. Berglund426713-61223
R. Polak493811+53601
B. Jackman382911+65000
B. Crombeen493710-111701
E. Brewer26347-141300
B. Winchester41246+45310
D. Sydor32066+01500
M. Weaver46044+01800
A. Pietrangelo9112-9600
T. Strachan6022+3400
L. Eller5101+1410
Y. Stastny4101+1000
C. Janssen31000-410600
D. Armstrong5000-2200
D. King1000+0500
J. Junland1000-2000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
C. Mason3515-14-6889882.52.911
T. Conklin157-6-1404782.76.916
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
T. Plekanec51113849+22811
M. Cammalleri51231841+71244
S. Gomez4762733-12420
M. Bergeron44101626-101264
A. Kostitsyn40121325+32052
B. Gionta30131023+31452
G. Metropolit45101121+01861
R. Hamrlik4451318-43221
M. Pacioretty5031114-52000
J. Spacek4931114+64010
A. Markov1631114-1831
B. Pouliot2710313+22722
T. Moen517310-44710
J. Gorges51358+13301
M. Lapierre51268-124800
P. Mara41088-154800
H. Gill37224-64900
M. D'Agostini34224-112100
S. Kostitsyn19134-4200
G. Latendresse23213-4400
G. Laraque28123-62800
R. White14022-51100
R. O'Byrne25011-22900
T. Pyatt19000-9600
K. Chipchura19000-101600
J. Leach7000+0500
G. Stewart5000-31100
M. Carle3000+1400
J. Wyman3000-2000
Y. Weber3000-4000
S. Belle2000-2000
M. Darche1000-1000
D. Desharnais1000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Halak2112-7-1536772.64.922
C. Price3211-16-4869902.73.913

 
TICKETS
Single Game Tickets
Full Season Tickets
Half Season Plans
12-Game Plans
6-Game Packs
Group Tickets
Luxury Suites
My Account
NHL Ticket Exchange

TEAM
Roster
In the System
Coaches
Front Office
Blues History
All-Time Player Roster
Chicago Wolves
Alaska Aces

SCHEDULE
Preseason
Regular Season
Promotions Schedule
Schedule Downloads

STATS
Player Stats
League Standings

NEWS
News
Features
Blues Overtime Blog

VIDEO
Game Highlights
GameDay
News & Interviews
All-Access
NHL Network

SOCIAL
Find a Player
Facebook
Twitter
Mobile App
E-mail Subscriptions

FANS
Hot Deals for Cool Fans
Photo Galleries
License Plates

COMMUNITY
Blues in the Community
Blues 14 Fund
50/50 Raffle Numbers

SHOP
Online Store
Blues Auctions
True Blues Authentics

stlouisblues.com is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, stlouisblues.com and stlblues.com are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2014 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

PRIVACY POLICY | ADCHOICES | TERMS OF USE | EMPLOYMENT & INTERNSHIPS | GUEST EXPERIENCE SURVEY | CONTACT US