MY BLUES ACCOUNT            

  • RSS

Blues Extend Hitchcock Through 2014-15

Shaw, Bennett will remain part of coaching staff; Agnew, Hirsch will not return

Wednesday, 05.7.2014 / 1:18 PM CT / St Louis Blues - News
St. Louis Blues
Share with your Friends

Blues Extend Hitchcock Through 2014-15

ST. LOUIS - St. Louis Blues President of Hockey Operations and General Manager Doug Armstrong announced today the club has extended the contract of Head Coach Ken Hitchcock for the 2014-15 season.

Associate Coach Brad Shaw and Assistant Coach Ray Bennett will also return for this upcoming season.

In addition, the club announced that Assistant Coach Gary Agnew and Goaltending Coach Corey Hirsch will not rejoin the team. A search to complete the coaching staff will begin immediately and the club will have no further comment until replacements are named.

“I would like to thank Gary and Corey for their diligence and dedication as members of our organization, and wish them nothing but success in their future endeavors,” said Armstrong.

Hitchcock, 62, was named the 24th head coach in Blues history on Nov. 7, 2011. Since, he has led the club to three straight postseason appearances, including a franchise-best 52-win campaign this past season. During his three-year Blues career, he has compiled a 124-55-20 regular season record, making him the club’s all-time leader in points percentage (.673), while in 2011-12, he became just the fourth head coach in Blues history to receive the National Hockey League’s (NHL) Jack Adams Award as the League’s best coach.

Overall, the Edmonton, Alberta native has posted a 657-405-178 (.602) all-time regular season mark, while capturing the 1999 Stanley Cup with the Dallas Stars, as well as the gold medal with Team Canada at the 2002, 2010 and 2014 Winter Olympics.

Hitchcock ranks seventh on the NHL’s all-time wins list, including second among active coaches, while slotting third in Blues history.

NHL’s All-Time Wins List
1. Scotty Bowman, 1,244
2. Al Arbour, 782
3. Joel Quenneville, 706
4. Dick Irvin, 692
5. Pat Quinn, 684
6. Mike Keenan, 672
7. Ken Hitchcock, 657
1. Joel Quenneville, 706
2. Ken Hitchcock, 657
3. Lindy Ruff, 611
4. Darryl Sutter, 507
5. Mike Babcock, 484
Most Wins, Blues History
1. Joel Quenneville, 307
2. Brian Sutter, 153
3. Ken Hitchcock, 124
4. Andy Murray, 118
5. Scotty Bowman, 110



MORE is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, and are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.