MY BLUES ACCOUNT            

  • RSS

Halak, Elliott Take Jennings Trophy

Goaltenders are first to win for Blues since Roman Turek won in 1999-2000

Wednesday, 06.20.2012 / 5:48 PM CT / St Louis Blues - News
St. Louis Blues
Share with your Friends

Halak, Elliott Take Jennings Trophy
ST. LOUIS – Goaltenders Jaroslav Halak and Brian Elliott were presented with the William M. Jennings Trophy at the NHL Awards on Wednesday evening.

The award which is given annually to the goaltenders (with a minimum of 25 games played) for the team with the fewest goals against in the regular season.

Halak and Elliott combined for the fewest goals allowed in the NHL (165), capturing their first William Jennings Trophy and the second in Blues history (1999-2000, Roman Turek).

The duo combined for a League-high 15 shutouts, tying a modern NHL record set by the Chicago Blackhawks in 1969-70 and surpassing the club mark of 13 set by Glenn Hall and Jacques Plante in 1968-69. Elliott (nine) and Halak (six) also are the first tandem in NHL history to record at least six shutouts apiece in the same season.

Halak ranked fifth in the NHL with a 1.97 goals-against average and posted a .926 save percentage. He won a career-high eight consecutive decisions, including six straight on the road, Feb. 23 – March 11.

Elliott led the NHL with a 1.56 goals-against average and .940 save percentage. He set franchise records with nine shutouts and a 241:33 shutout streak, also personal bests. His three consecutive shutouts March 22-27 equaled the franchise mark set by Greg Millen in 1988-89.



MORE is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, and are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.