MY BLUES ACCOUNT            

  • RSS

Hitchcock a Finalist for Jack Adams

Award is given after each season to the NHL's Coach of the Year

Monday, 04.30.2012 / 10:01 AM CT / St Louis Blues - News
St. Louis Blues
Share with your Friends

Hitchcock a Finalist for Jack Adams

ST. LOUIS – St. Louis Blues Head Coach Ken Hitchcock has been named a finalist for the Jack Adams Award by the National Hockey League (NHL).

The Jack Adams Award is given annually to the coach judged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

Hitchcock is a finalist with the New York Rangers' John Tortorella and Ottawa's Paul MacLean.

Former Blues head coaches to win the award include Joel Quenneville in 2000, Brian Sutter in 1991 and Red Berenson in 1981.

Hitchcock was named the 24th Head Coach in franchise history on November 6, 2011 and led the Blues to their first 100-point season (49-22-11, 109 pts) since 2001 as well as their first playoff series win since 2002. Hitchcock set a franchise record for the best 10-game start for a new Blues coach (7-1-2) and became the sixth different coach in club history to record over 40 wins in a season.

Hitchcock finished the regular season 13th all-time in games coached (1,110) and 11th in wins (576) while in playoff history he ranks 9th all-time in games (127) and 11th in wins (70).

Hitchcock is one of two remaining coaches (John Tortorella) in the 2011-12 Stanley Cup Playoffs to have won the Stanley Cup (Dallas, 1999).



MORE is the official Web site of the St Louis Blues. St Louis Blues, and are trademarks of the St Louis Blues Hockey Club. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 St. Louis Blues Hockey Club and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.